Cassie Donish

Cassie Donish has been awarded the Iowa Poetry Prize for The Year of the Femme. Cassie is currently a doctoral student and is also the author of the poetry collection Beautyberry and the nonfiction chapbook On the Mezzanine.

Ray Ronci

Ray Ronci received MU's most prestigious teaching award, the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence. Only five faculty members across campus receive this award each year.


Anand Prahlad has been granted a prestigious Curators' Distinguished Teaching Professorship. Only twenty-five professors have been named to the position since it was established in 1992. Prahlad was the only professor selected by the chancellor this year.

Jennifer Maritza McCauley

Jennifer Maritza McCauley has been awarded a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts in Creative Writing for 2018. Jennifer is currently a doctoral student, and her poetry collection Scar On/Scar Off was recently published by Stalking Horse Press. 

National Endowment for the Humanities Logo

Just announced, Noah Heringman has been awarded an NEH Scholarly Editions Grant!

Prof. Noah Heringman Image

Professor Noah Heringman has been awarded the Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity.

Prof. Gabriel Fried

Associate Teaching Professor Gabriel Fried has been chosen as a 2017 recipient of the Win Horner Award by the Campus Writing Program. MU English professor Dr.

Prof. Julija Sukys

Congratulations to Julija Sukys for winning the 2017 MU Graduate Faculty Mentor Award. Current and former students as well as colleagues in English wrote letters testifying to Julija’s care and leadership as a mentor of creative nonfiction writers and other graduate students.

Jordi Alonso Photo

Jordi Alonso, doctoral candidate in poetry, was recently interviewed by Lauren Kessler for the Los Angeles Review of Books for his latest, fully-illustrated chapbook The Lovers' Phrasebook, published 2017 by Red Flag Poetry.