Lynne McMahon

No Image Available
Professor Emerita

PhD 1982, University of Utah

Research and Teaching

Creative writing: poetry

Lynne McMahon has published four collections of poetry: Faith (Wesleyan University Press, 1988), Devolution of the Nude (David R. Godine, 1993), The House of Entertaining Science (David R. Godine, 1999), and, most recently,Sentimental Standards (David R. Godine, 2004). Her essays have appeared in such journals as The New York Times Book ReviewNew Virginia ReviewAmerican Poetry Review, and The Southern Review. Her poems have appeared inThe New YorkerThe Atlantic MonthlyThe NationPartisan ReviewPoetryThe New RepublicRolling StoneThe Yale ReviewThe New England Review and The Paris Review. The recipient of an Award for Literary Excellence from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, she has also been awarded grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the Missouri Arts Council. She has given readings throughout the United States, England and Ireland, and she has served as Visiting Poet at the University of California-Irvine.

Selected Publications

Lynne McMahon, ed. The Longman Anthology of Poetry (Longman, 2006)

Lynne McMahon. Sentimental Standards (David R. Godine, 2004)